Educational requirements for SelectNet credentialing

For providers who are not planning to pursue Level ll accreditation through the Colorado Division of
Back to Knowledge Center

For providers who are not planning to pursue Level ll accreditation through the Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation (DOWC), Pinnacol will accept either Level I or the Pinnacol Workers’ Compensation Basics for Providers course as meeting one of the SelectNet credentialing requirements for education beginning December 1, 2017.

Upon completion, email the certificate of completion for each module to to verify you have met the course requirement.

SelectNet providers who are in the network prior to Dec. 1, 2017 will not be required to complete Level I or Workers’ Compensation Basics at the time of re-credentialing, unless their level of credentialing requires that they maintain Level I (chiropractors, for example).

SelectNet physician assistants (PA) and nurse practitioners (NP) working in primary care clinics must now take the Pinnacol course or the DOWC Level I course within the first year of joining the network. This will ensure they can treat injured workers covered by Pinnacol and be listed in the SelectNet provider directory. PAs and NPs working in specialty clinics are not required to take either course, but it is strongly encouraged that they take Pinnacol’s Workers’ Compensation Basics for Providers course.

Prior to joining the network, all chiropractic providers must complete the DOWC Level I accreditation course. Regardless of the provider’s treating pattern, only the DOWC Level I course will meet the SelectNet credentialing requirement.    

Certain SelectNet physicians have additional credentialing requirements for Level II accreditation:

  • Physicians who provide permanent impairment evaluations (impairment ratings) of  workers’ compensation claimants and those who serve on the Division Independent Medical Examination Panel must be Level II accredited through the Division of Workers’ Compensation.
  • Network providers board-certified in occupational medicine must obtain full Level II accreditation within the first year of joining the network and are required to keep their accreditation current and up-to-date.
  • In network clinics that focus primarily on providing occupational health services, all providers must obtain Level II accreditation. The accreditation must be obtained within the first year of joining the network and must be kept current and up-to-date.

Exceptions for individual providers will be considered on the basis of an exceptions-request form that must be completed and submitted at the time of initial credentialing or recredentialing to

There must be compelling evidence that the provider requesting the exemption has Level II-accredited colleagues in the same system that are readily accessible, experienced, and within a reasonable geographic proximity.

Note: Level II accreditation is only available through the DOWC. To obtain DOWC Level II accreditation, a physician must be DOWC Level I accredited after January 1, 2018. Physicians who received their initial Level II accreditation prior to January 1, 2018 are exempt from this requirement.  

For questions, please contact or 303.361.4945.

Exception Request PDF
COVID-19 policy update